A Disequilibrium in Fitness

I never thought riding a bike was so complicated.

Me, my dad, and my brother have signed up to ride in the “Best Dam Bike Race” for MS in late June, and I have only just barely begun my training, and I can tell that it is going to be a VERY long month, indeed.  I went out on a “short” bike ride with my dad on Wednesday.  It was truly epic.  If you’ve ever wondered what it feels like to be an asthmatic, just go ride a bike.  That’s about what I felt like at the end.  I guess all that musician-ness and wind-using did not help my lung capacity and cardio-vascular skills in the least.  But my biggest problem with riding bikes has to be the seat.  The following day, Thursday, my legs were not sore.  They were feeling pretty good.  But sitting… That was the difficult part.  That bike seat… Oh boy.  A lesson in pain.  And going out again today… You know how it feels when you have a child with a bony rear end sitting on your lap and moving around?  It was kind of like that, except it’s your own bony rear end… to End.  If you get my drift.  But apparently that’ll go away.  Eventually.  I pray to the almighty Gods of distance bike-racing that it’s soon…

My biggest complaint, though, is that my father, the tech guy who plays in a band, is much more comfortable than I am.  Albeit, he has been doing it much longer than I have, but he also has slight asthma, I do not.  He is middle-aged; I am entering my prime years.  He sits at a desk all day for work; I run around waiting tables.  But after our little three-mile ride today, we got back to the house, and he decides to go around the route again!  And me, I’m kind of dying, so I park it and watch him ride off into the distance in his… Fitness.

I feel OLD.

Speaking of feeling old, I realized the other day that I pre-date the iPod.  Wow.

 

P.S. If anyone reading this would like to donate to my cause, please e-mail me at amanda@amandamerrill.com and I will send you a link to donate!  PLEASE DONATE TO THIS GREAT CAUSE!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Tiffanie said,

    Time for a new post! 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

